Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Collecting good reviews

I hit upon the idea for Satellite Falling of making a movie poster with all of the great reviews that my book has had, and doing it like one of those post-opening day movie posters that you see all over the place. At the top I put the most interesting blurb the book as gotten, and I've lined up all of the 4/5 or better reviews along each side. (I ignored the three or so bad reviews that I got.)

The end goal is to drum up sales on #2, which as is typical, experienced a big drop from issue 1. If your book has a lot of critical acclaim but could sell a few more copies, consider doing one of these and posting it on social media. See if your publisher will retweet it.

Keep in mind that I'm not a graphic designer, so if you are, you can definitely come up with something better than this.

Comments

• I actually keep a database of most of my reviews. When I say I, this means I hire someone to do it, because I have so many freaking reviews.

I also have her collect the websites and contact info, so now I can send my stuff to people who shown a predisposition to like my books for review.
  • I actually keep a database of most of my reviews. When I say I, this means I hire someone to do it, because I have so many freaking reviews.

I also have her collect the websites and contact info, so now I can send my stuff to people who shown a predisposition to like my books for review.
    Stealing every part of this except the part where I hire someone else.
  • Honestly, I've realized that there certain things I should that will only get done if I hire out for them.
  • Honestly, I've realized that there certain things I should that will only get done if I hire out for them.

Oh, I don't blame you for hiring someone. I'm just too far into the red from comics-making (for now, dammit!) to afford it.
  • edited May 2016